Travel

What is a Dole Whip? Dole Whip explained

Hello everyone! I have had Disney stuff on my mind a lot lately. One thing I realized is that most Disney World newbies trying to plan their vacation repeatedly find the words: You must try a Dole Whip! When I was planning our first vacation to Disney, I saw the above-mentioned phrase constantly! But I had no idea what this legendary Dole Whip was! I hope that this post can help all you Disney newbies out there!

What is a Dole Whip-

A brief background of the Dole Whip

Shockingly, the Dole Whip was not introduced to Disneyland until 1986 at Adventureland’s Enchanted Tiki Bar (the whip is now served at the Tiki Juice Bar). The dessert is served not only at Disney World and Disneyland, but also at zoos, amusement parks, and universities across the country. The Dole Whip is also served at the Dole plantation in Hawaii.

It wasn’t that the other places nationwide didn’t serve Dole Whips as good as Disney, but more that the product just really took off with Disney. Most days, the line at Tiki Juice Bar is really long. I have found for the lines at Disneyworld’s Aloha Isle to be more manageable.

 

But what is a Dole Whip?!

Well, my friends, a Dole Whip is a soft-serve ice cream made from a dry mix and is available in the flavors Pineapple, Mango, Lemon, Orange, Raspberry, Vanilla, and Strawberry. At Disney’s Aloha Isle this cup of deliciousness is available in vanilla, pineapple, and swirl. The Dole Whip is available in a float (made with the ice cream and pineapple juice) or in a cup.

 

So, overall, I would say that the Dole Whip is not to be missed. The pineapple flavor is tangy, sweet, and in some bites just a hint sour. Make sure to visit Aloha Isle or Tiki Juice Bar to grab a Dole Whip on your next Disney trip! 🙂

 

 

sig. for posts

 

 

 

Leave a comment